PP3 “Out There, Looking For…”

For my third project, I am going to do editorial Fashion shoot what I called “Out there, looking for…” and it will reflect the style of Annie Leibovitz and Richard Avedon.  The title of the shoot will reflect on the models pose, expression and also on location. I will be shooting on different locations for different backgrounds and I will use the model poses and expression to make them look like they are looking or searching for something.

One model that I have worked with previously is signed for a modeling agency and she has her own Gown shop. She asked me if I would be interested in doing a shoot with her gowns and couple more models that she will also provide. For exchange, she wants images from the shoot to use for her gown advertisement. First, when she offered that to me, I wasn’t so keen on it because I had other work to do and I didn’t see much of a benefit from it. Couple days later I decided to use the opportunity to get my third project done. Fortunately, I have the freedom to be in charge of the shoot and can choose locations and style that I want and she will try to provide with whatever I will need for the shoot. First when I was planning that shoot I wanted to do outside on location but unfortunately right now is too cold outside so I will do a photo shoot inside where is warm.

When I was thinking about photographing gowns and dresses first thing that came to my mind was Annie Leibovitz fashion photography. Her images are all staged and you can see that there is a lot of work and effort put into the scene but her final outcome looks like candid photography what makes what I like so much about it. Here below you can see some inspirational work from Annie.
4b20ce567699ea2c38e3a48fd21b5c9528-redheads-rihanna29c4b0605660c5411cad025d6479a292annie-liebovitzweb_paris-annie-leibovitz

I wanted to get more inspiration but from different photographer and I found Richard Avedon fashion photography. Avedon made his models look very elegant and classy and models on his photographs look more feminine than on Leibovitz photography as her models look more powerful and independent.
Here below you will see inspirational photos from Avedon.

ff2c34c96be98b503d638f576e87b987c2c6f0999b820c72fba0a0e84a604200571708ffb55606fd57406cc5a06b933d21_dovima-theredlist

The selection of example photographs above from Annie Leibovitz and also Richard Avedon should show the idea what I’m trying to convey.

I have attached more inspirational photographs in Pinterest what you can see by following this link. https://uk.pinterest.com/ebasmakov/mood-board-shoot-3/

My third personal project was most successful compared to previous two. I planned to have two shoots in different locations and everything went as I was planning. I got to know more models and makeup artists who would like to collaborate with me for free to build up their portfolio. This project was very challenging to use studio lights because the ambient light was so low that the flash overexposed everything so I used flash to light up the background as well what changed the photograph totally.

If I would have to start this project again then I would do better research and also would concentrate more on making a story because I think my story don’t make so much sense.
These are the final 4 images that I chose for my third project.

steph_edd5495_edd5959_edd5079b

Leave a Reply

